Seaside Sailor Sew-a-long

So… last week I participated in the Seaside Sailor Dress Sew-a-long over at the Tie Dye Diva Sewing Patterns fanpage.

Have you ever participated in a Sew-a-long?

I have signed up for them, bought fabrics, and had the intention of doing them, but never followed thru. :/

But when I saw that Jen was doing this pattern, I just had to join and I made myself a promise that I would follow thru.

I bought the bundle ages ago and have been dying to make this dress, but never got around to it.

You know how it is… the best intentions and all that.

I had to stay up late every night of the sew-a-long, but I managed to make a dress for Ella and Lucy and each with a matching dolly dress! It was so fun!

I made Ella’s with very traditional colors, great for the 4th!

m_IMG_5080

The blue and white polka dot fabric was from last year. I picked it up from Wal-Mart for a steal. It’s some sort of poly-cotton blend and is really breezy and doesn’t wrinkle bad at all. I love it.

m_IMG_5085

I intended to put the bias trim on Ella’s and the ric rac on Lucy’s, but I mixed up the collars on accident during sewing. 😦

I still wish they were the other way… but not enough to take them apart.

m_IMG_5098

I just think these sailor dresses are the cutest and I’m so happy I had a chance to make them while the girls still think they’re ‘cool’. I’m so dreading them getting older… sigh…

m_IMG_5099

I see it happening right before my eyes and it takes my breath away some days, so I really cherish the moments when they still want to look and play like little girls.

I want to hold onto those moments forever.

One way I’ve found to ensure that they still act like little girls is to make them a matching dolly outfit.

The joy they get from that is such a pure and consuming joy. Their faces light up and they just beam. It’s undeniably cute.

m_IMG_5126

Ella’s baby doll outfit looks exactly the same, except that I was just about out of fabric and have a little bit of the selvage showing on one side… ha ha ha

oops! Peek-a-boo.

m_IMG_5122I never worry too much about that kind of stuff with doll clothes. The girls NEVER notice.

m_IMG_5112They’re too busy getting excited and loving on their baby dolls!

m_IMG_5111I love this photo with Ella’s little leg kicked out {even though it’s blurry}.

m_IMG_5106

My sister, Megan, likes how I pose the dolls, too. ha ha ha What, she wanted to kick her leg out, too. 🙂

m_IMG_5121

For Lucy’s dress, I wanted a more whimsical and fun look, so I used this oh-so-loved, hoarded, Michael Miller fabric that I took from my Mom’s house. I just love it so much, but never come up with quite the right project for it for the girls.

m_IMG_5063

If I wouldn’t have made this adorable baby set for my cousin, then I wouldn’t have had to get so creative with the cutting… ha ha ha

196528_10150100596271229_1240322_n

Can you see where I had to seam the bodice on one side?

m_IMG_5056

I did my best to seam it where it wouldn’t be noticeable. I think I did pretty good.

I also had to add a hem band to the bottom, because I was short on length… but what a happy accident that turned out to be. I just love how it looks!

m_IMG_5055

Even though I originally wanted the ric rac on Lucy’s, I really like the crispness of the bias binding on this one. I’m not sure I would really like the ric rac in hindsight.

m_IMG_5069

When I made these, I totally expected that I would love them more than the girls. Ella is kind of into being in style… which mostly consists of wanting to wear clothes from Justice {which I don’t buy} and Lucy just wants to wear knit dresses all the time.

Honestly, I thought it might be a fight to get them to wear them, but they absolutely ADORE them as much as I do.

I mean… have you ever seen a happier kid?

m_IMG_5050

Her dolly dress was really a piece of work: pieced 8 times on the skirt portion alone {not including the hem band}, but I ‘made it work’.

m_IMG_5048

Ruthie doesn’t seem to mind… and you can hardly tell when it’s on her.

m_IMG_5044

This pattern also gave me the opportunity to try out my new-ish set of Kam snaps and press.

Can I just say… LOVE!

Snaps have always given me such a headache. I’m strong and I man handle everything, but these can hold up to that and they work so beautifully.

Plus, they are so easy for the girls to dress and un-dress!

m_IMG_5043

I’m just so thrilled with how these dresses came out and I’m so happy I actually followed thru with the sew-a-long!

I have to tell you… Lucy was sitting in a little yellow chair {from my grandparents house} in my sewing room in her dress, playing with her dolly, in her little white high heels and white headband bow, with her legs crossed at the ankles and I could just die at her sweetness. Really… I wish I could have snapped a picture of her in that moment, becasue she looked like the epitome of innocence, youth, and childlike wonder.

I just want to stop time and keep them in that moment for a little while longer.

One of the things I really miss about testing for other designers is that I was able to make things that I normally wouldn’t and also, that I had a deadline, making it impossible to become a UFO. This sew-a-long gave me that opportunity and held me accountable. I’d like to host some sew-a-longs with my patterns, in the next few months since I had so much fun with this one. Any patterns you’d like to see as a sew-a-long from Cole’s Corner and Creations?

In the meantime, if you want to sew up a sailor dress or dolly dress, head over to Jen’s website and pick up this pattern. It’s wonderful! You won’t be disappointed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

