#whyIsew

 

whyisew_edited-1

The Graphic says Made for Mermaids, but this is Cole. I’ve decided to tell you why.

Why I sew…?

WOW…

Well, lots of reasons.

1. I’m unique and I want clothes that are, too.

2. I’ve always had a difficult figure to fit.

3. I love being like my Mom.

4. I LOVE fabric.

5. I’m creative.

6. I’m cheap.

7. I take pride in making things with my hands.

8. I love a challenge and learning new things.

9. It’s fun!

10. and the most important reason: It makes me feel like a good Mom.

 

I started sewing when I was a very little girl. I remember doing those iron on cross stitch designs… and I still love to look at those at Hobby Lobby. The pictures are so cute and they bring back such good memories of my Mother teaching me to sew.

aunt marthas

My Mom sewed everything for us: puppets, dolls, doll clothes, toys, play clothes, jammas, Holiday dresses, smocked dresses, Homecoming and prom dresses, wedding dresses, costumes… you name it.

I started sewing clothes for myself a little bit in high school; small things like costumes and spirit day outfits {because I was the most fun and spirited cheerleader 🙂 and just HAD to have the most outrageous costume every week}.

29650_398195943213_7764028_n 29650_398196068213_4496538_n

But I really started sewing when I got pregnant. I think that’s when it really happens for a lot of ladies.

I went to work right away making burp clothes and blankets and bibs! I never slowed down. My kids have had 100% handmade Halloween costumes, Easter clothes, and practically everything else since they’ve been born. I just love the look on their faces when I make them something. I love the way it feels to know that I made it. Just for them. With love. With every detail planned by me. I makes me feel like I’m a good Mom…

because I know first hand how it made me feel when my mother did it for me.

When I was young, thru middle school and even in high school {when most kids think handmade isn’t cool anymore}, Mom still made most all of my clothes. We would go to the mall and try on clothes and sit in the dressing room and make little sketches of the clothes I liked. She could recreate just about anything… and even make it better than the original. When she sketched an original design and I just couldn’t envision what she meant, she would make up little Barbie doll clothes in the design and fabrics so that I could see it.

So, needless to say… I got spoiled to sewing, to tailored garments, to choosing my fabrics, and to having exactly what I wanted.

When I moved out of my parents house and they moved across the state, I was lost without my Mom’s sewing.

In my early 20’s when all of my friends were getting married, I ran out of dresses to wear to them. I called Mom and asked her to make me a dress, to which she very kindly responded to ‘make it myself.’ So, she sent me a sewing machine and some some fabric and notions {Like she still does today. 🙂 }

And I set out on a journey to recreate this dress. (Which is one of my ABSOLUTE, all time, favorite dresses Mom ever made me). Oooooooooh, it was so lovely. {I think it’s still hanging in my sister in law’s closet… because that tiny thing can still wear a size tiny.}

29650_398195703213_1129820_n

It was made from a beautiful, drapey, crepe fabric with a full lining and sweet, oriental style buttons and a little collar and cap sleeves. It was LONG and just the right length… which was important, because I’m tall and no dress was ever long enough to suit me unless Mom made it.

IMG_5544

It was just so perfect and my very favorite dress… but I had already worn it to a wedding, so…

It was time to try and make one.

It turned out like this.

IMG_5545

From the same pattern.

Yep. I couldn’t figure out how to do the buttonholes, so I sewed the center front with a seam, creating a really hideous and weird shaped V neckline.

Oh yeah… the collar? It had to go. I had no interfacing… and let’s face it… no idea how to make a pretty collar.

The sleeves? Pretty sure I couldn’t set those in… or read the pattern. I think I tried… cussed…. cut them off… and threw them in the trash.

The skirt? I accidentally cut 4 of instead of 2 on the fold, so it had a seam now, not to mention that I cut the fabric upside down on the back, so then had to shorten it by quite a bit… cutting my front skirt into a front and back.

Oh… and the zip in the back? I couldn’t quite manage, so I seamed up the back and squeezed the dress on without a proper closure. Good thing for being a size… 4 or whatever.

IMG_5540

But, you know what?

I wore that dress with pride because I made it.

IMG_5542

I’ve had many, MANY mistakes along the way, but that’s how you learn. That’s how you grow. That’s how you celebrate your victories.

That’s part of the fun of sewing.

I learn new things every.single.day.

#whyIsew

Why do you sew?

 

6.22.14 | Sewing Mama RaeAnna | Simple Simon and Co. |
6.23.14 | Boy Oh Boy Oh Boy | Nimble Phish | Sprouting Jube Jube | Paisley Roots | Made For Mermaids | Glitter and Wit | Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop | Rae Gun Ramblings |
6.24.14 | Shaffer Sisters | Sew Like My Mom | Bebe Lambs | EYMM |
6.25.14 | The Sewing Geek | GYCT | Lulu and Celeste |
6.26.14 | Ruby and Jack Patterns | Muse of the Morning | Fishsticks Designs | Little Kids Grow |
6.27.14 | Make it Handmade | Rebel and Malice | Ali Cat & Co. |

2 thoughts on “#whyIsew

  1. You’re mom sent me my sewing machine too. I asked her for machine recommendations and it just showed up on my door step. She has fostered so many people into sewing! I always know who to ask questions. And I have always, always admired you, your sisters, and your mom for your mothering skills.

Leave a Reply

